Sara Errani berates chair umpire over wrong call

Sara Errani was irate over a blown call by a chair umpire during a first-round match at the...

Sara Errani was irate over a blown call by a chair umpire during a first-round match at the Cincinnati Open on Tuesday. (Jocelyn Malette/QMI Agency)

QMI Agency

, Last Updated: 7:19 PM ET

Italian tennis player Sara Errani lost her mind after a blown call cost her a crucial point during her first-round match Tuesday at the Cincinnati Open.

Facing Yanina Wickmayer of Belgium and tied 3-3 in the decisive set, Errani's serve landed in but was overruled by the chair umpire. Wickmayer returned the shot during the call and it went out, but the ump ruled that Errani had to replay the point anyways.

Errani immediately challenged the call, which proved her serve was in, and wanted to be awarded the point on principle. She then began to argue with the ump to no avail.

"You're making two mistakes, not one," Errani said. "Two mistakes. Unbelievable."

The ump ultimately didn't agree with Errani and said he had to give the benefit of the doubt to Wickmayer while admitting the mistaken overrule.

Errani luckily didn't lose her composure as she went on to defeat Wickmayer 7-5, 3-6, 7-6 (2).


Videos

Photos