Villegas DQ'd on birthday

Sports Network

, Last Updated: 4:18 PM ET

KAPALUA, Hawaii -- This couldn't have been how Camilo Villegas wanted to celebrate his 29th birthday.

He was disqualified from the Hyundai Tournament of Champions on Friday for an incident that took place in Thursday's first round.

Villegas chipped toward the green at the par-five 15th and the ball rolled back at him twice. The second time, he moved a piece of grass near a divot while the ball was still moving.

That violated Rule 23-1, which states that, "When a ball is in motion, a loose impediment that might influence the movement of the ball must not be removed."

Villegas should've taken a two-stroke penalty, but didn't. He signed for a one-under 72 instead of a 74 and was disqualified for signing an incorrect scorecard.

A television viewer noticed the infraction and called tournament officials.


Photos