Golf at its best ... and worst

IAN HUTCHINSON, SUN MEDIA

, Last Updated: 8:55 AM ET

OAKVILLE -- Not only did Mike Weir have to deal with the stops and starts that have become a major part of this rain-soaked edition of the RBC Canadian Open, he also got a good dose of highs and lows yesterday at Glen Abbey.

After dropping an ace on the 200-yard par-3 fourth hole using a 4-iron, Weir found out that an issue he thought was settled on Saturday, had reared its ugly head after finishing the 11th hole of his third round before yet another rain delay halted play for the day.

After rain struck again yesterday, Weir was called in to review video of an incident that had taken place on the 18th hole of the second round on Saturday in which his ball had moved forward while at rest before his second shot in the fairway.

The ruling at the time was that Weir, who had called a rules official to assess the original situation, would take a one-stroke penalty and that video would be reviewed.

Before Weir signed his card at the conclusion of the round, the rules committee reviewed video and determined that there was no evidence that Weir had caused the ball to move and the penalty was removed.

VIDEO REVIEW

That changed yesterday when Weir came off the course, again reviewed the tape with the rules committee and agreed that he should be assessed the penalty. It was unclear what prompted the rules committee to review the tape further.

"As soon as it happened, Mike called for an official and we looked at it and, over the radio, we assessed the penalty, told Mike we would review it and look at the videotape," said Dean Ryan, rules chair for the Royal Canadian Golf Association.

"We did and, then today, we reviewed it again and in light of the evidence, we thought, or Mike thought, that certainly a penalty would be applicable in that case," he said.

"It was something we felt like we needed to have Mike review again," PGA Tour official Steve Carman said.

Weir said he was surprised that it had come up again, feeling the issue had been settled the previous day.

"It's such a grey area," Weir said. "What we came to yesterday was two things. The first was addressing the ball. Addressing the ball is the weight of the club touching the ground which, with my routine, I felt like I don't do that. The weight of my club is in my arms.

"The second thing is could I have caused it to move in any other way? I didn't know. I didn't think I did, but technically, maybe I brushed the grass. Some other way, I may have caused it to move in my back swing," he said.

"So, I said with that grey area and knowing that there is a possibility, even though I don't think I did, there is a possibility that I could have caused it to move. I felt like,'you know, I should be penalized a shot,' " he said.

Weir was three under over his 11 holes yesterday and currently is tied for 15th at nine under, five shots behind leader Jason Dufner.

He showed grace in originally calling the rules official and for accepting the penalty himself.

Weir was in good spirits despite the fact that the penalty could be a deciding factor if he makes a charge today. He tees off on the 12th hole with Kevin Sutherland and Corey Pavin and is scheduled to start the fourth round at 9:43 a.m. on the first tee.

"What we looked at (Saturday) night, in particular, was whether or not he had grounded the (club). That's what we focused on in our interview with him in the scoring area and what we looked at individually," Carman said.

"We looked at that small little window and, when we backed up and looked at a broader view of it. That's where the situation comes in. We're uncertain whether he did, but unfortunately, the decision right now is it goes against the player unless there's evidence that something else caused it," he added.

Ryan added that the committee reserved the right to review the situation, so Weir actually signed a correct scorecard at the time so disqualification from the tournament didn't apply.


Photos