Argos-Ticats Labour Day classic returns in 2014

Toronto Argos' Dontrelle Inman battles for the ball with the Hamilton Ticats' Delvin Breaux at the...

Toronto Argos' Dontrelle Inman battles for the ball with the Hamilton Ticats' Delvin Breaux at the Rogers Centre in Toronto, Monday June 28, 2013. (CRAIG ROBERTSON/QMI Agency)

MIKE KOREEN, QMI Agency

, Last Updated: 1:05 PM ET

A Grey Cup rematch in the opening week, the opening of Tim Hortons Field and the return of the Argonauts-Hamilton Tiger-Cats Labour Day classic highlight the CFL schedule for the two southern Ontario teams.

The schedule, released Wednesday, sees the Ticats in Regina to meet the Grey Cup champion Roughriders in the opening week on June 29. The Roughriders beat Hamilton in last year's CFL final in the same venue.

Meanwhile, the Ticats-Argos Labour Day Classic is back on after a one-year absence because neither team had a stadium that day – the Ticats last year played at Guelph' Alumni Stadium, which had a university football game that day, while the Rogers Centre was still in baseball news. This year's Labour Day Classic goes Sept. 1 at Hamilton's new Tim Hortons Field.

The first game at the new stadium will be July 26 against ex-Ticats quarterback Henry Burris and the expansion Ottawa RedBlacks. The league allowed the Ticats to open the season with three straight road games to give extra time to put the finishing touches on the new facility.

The Argos get eight of nine home games on Fridays, Saturdays or Sundays this season, but also have a 1 ½ month stretch without a home game from Aug. 18-Oct. 3.

The Argos open their season June 26 in Winnipeg against the Blue Bombers and play their home opener July 5 vs. Saskatchewan. Toronto plays five of its last six games at home.

The Argos get the honour of being the RedBlacks' first opponent for their home debut July 18 at TD Place. Ottawa kicks off its inaugural season July 3 in Winnipeg.

Both the Argos and Ticats will play home pre-season games at university facilities. The Argos host the Ticats at the University of Toronto Varsity Centre on June 19, while Hamilton entertains the Montreal Alouettes on June 14 at McMaster University's Ron Joyce Stadium.

ARGOS REGULAR SEASON SCHEDULE

Thursday, June 26: at Winnipeg, 8:30 p.m.

Saturday, July 5: vs. Saskatchewan, 3 p.m.

Saturday, July 12: vs. Calgary, 6:30 p.m.

Friday, July 18: at Ottawa, 7 p.m.

Saturday, July 26: at Saskatchewan, 10 p.m.

Friday, Aug. 1: at Montreal, 7 p.m.

Tuesday, Aug. 12: vs. Winnipeg, 7:30 p.m.

Sunday, Aug. 17: vs. B.C., 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, Aug. 23: at Edmonton, 4 p.m.

Monday, Sept. 1: at Hamilton, 1 p.m.

Saturday, Sept. 13: at Calgary, 7 p.m.

Friday, Sept. 19: at B.C., 10 p.m.

Saturday, Oct. 4: vs. Edmonton, 4 p.m.

Friday, Oct. 10: vs. Hamilton, 7 p.m.

Saturday, Oct. 18: vs. Montreal, 4 p.m.

Saturday, Oct. 25: vs. Hamilton, 4 p.m.

Sunday, Nov. 2: at Montreal, 12 p.m.

Friday, Nov. 7: vs. Ottawa, 7 p.m.

 

TICATS REGULAR SEASON SCHEDULE

Saturday, June 29: at Saskatchewan, 7 p.m

Friday, July 4: at Edmonton, 8 p.m.

Friday, July 18: at Calgary, 10 p.m.

Saturday, July 26: vs. Ottawa, 7 p.m.

Thursday, July 31: vs. Winnipeg, 7 p.m.

Friday, Aug. 8: at B.C., 10 p.m.

Saturday, Aug. 16: vs. Calgary, 3 p.m.

Monday, Sept. 1: vs. Toronto, 1 p.m.

Sunday, Sept. 7: at Montreal, 1 p.m.

Sunday, Sept. 14: vs. Saskatchewan, 1 p.m.

Sunday, Sept. 20: vs. Edmonton, 7 p.m.

Saturday, Sept. 27: at Winnipeg, 6:30 p.m.

Saturday, Oct. 4: vs. B.C., 7 p.m.

Friday, Oct. 10: at Toronto, 7 p.m.

Friday, Oct. 17: vs. Ottawa, 7 p.m.

Saturday, Oct. 25: at Toronto, 4 p.m.

Friday, Oct. 31: at Ottawa, 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, Nov. 8: vs. Montreal, 4 p.m.


Photos