Classic kickoff moved back

IAN BUSBY, QMI Agency

, Last Updated: 11:02 AM ET

The Labour Day Classic is going back to an afternoon kickoff after all.

A year ago, the CFL made the annual Edmonton Eskimos visit to McMahon Stadium a night game with a 5:30 p.m. start.

In the CFL schedule announced Monday, the Stamps will host the Eskimos Sept. 6 starting at 4 p.m.

Edmonton makes two visits to McMahon, with the other coming Sunday, Aug. 15. The rest of the home schedule features three Saturday night starts, three on Fridays and a Thursday night kickoff on Canada Day against the Toronto Argonauts.

But if the Calgary Stampeders are to get off to a good start in the 2010 season, they will have to become road warriors.

After the home-opener July 1, the Stamps hit the Eastern time zone for visits to Hamilton (July 10) and Toronto (July 14).

The team will likely stay in the Toronto area instead of coming home and it might be good for team bonding.

"The start of the 2010 schedule will be a great challenge and barometer for our team," said GM-head coach John Hufnagel. "Playing three games in 13 days with an Eastern road trip included will be a test of this team's maturity and mental toughness.

"Eight of the next nine games are versus West Division opponents, and our performance during this stretch will have a large impact on our eventual standing in the division."

The Stamps face the B.C. Lions four times this season, meaning they will visit the revamped Empire Stadium twice, while Calgary also plays the Edmonton Eskimos and Saskatchewan Roughriders three times each.

The Riders only make one visit to McMahon Stadium, July 24.

EXTRA POINTS

Lions safety Barron Miles is hanging up his helmet to become the club's defensive backs coach ... Centre Bryan Chiu will return for a 14th season with the Montreal Alouettes.

STAMPS SKED

2010 season

PRESEASON

Sun, June 13 at Edm, 5 p.m.

Sun, June 20 vs. Sask, 1 p.m.

REGULAR SEASON

Thurs, July 1 vs. Tor, 8 p.m.

Sat, July 10 at Ham, 11 a.m.

Wed, Jul 14 at Tor, 5:30 p.m.

Sat, Jul 24 vs. Sask, 7:30 p.m.

Sat, Jul 31, vs. Wpg, 7:30 p.m.

Sat, Aug 7 at B.C., 8 p.m.

Sun, Aug 15 vs. Edm, 6 p.m.

Fri, Aug 27 at B.C., 8:30 p.m.

Mon, Sep 6 vs. Edm, 4 p.m.

Fri, Sep 10 at Edm, 7 p.m.

Fri, Sep 17 at Sask, 7 p.m.

Sat, Sep 25 vs. B.C., 7:30 p.m.

Fri, Oct 1 vs. Mtl, 7 p.m.

Mon, Oct 11 at Mtl, 11 a.m.

Sun, Oct 17 at Sask, 2 p.m.

Fri, Oct 22 vs. B.C., 8 p.m.

Fri, Oct 29 vs. Ham, 8 p.m.

Fri, Nov 5 at Wpg, 6 p.m.


Videos

Photos